3 Square

Standard

Food is one of my best friends. That doesn’t bother me.

i study cereal boxes as I eat and look at how they use marketing. I adore my cookbooks. I grow food. Watching cooking shows is better than all other tv.

Drinking started out the same way. It was fun to be a beer, drink or wine snob. “Consciuos coupling” of Food & Wine. (That is the magazine’s new marketing ad.)  Trying to grow hops or making wine. I loved all that.

One of the ways I am not drinking is to eat a big meal at night. Instead of just enough, I remind myself to eat a full meal and have dessert. When I’m full I have no desire to drink. At the worst of it, I would try not to eat at all, so  I could drink more.

I have had to reintroduce meat back in my life. Yuck, but my kids were not eating along with me I realized. One time I didn’t have a single piece of fresh fruit or a vegetable in the house. I had quit buying food, just wine.

I’m getting back to bigger meals and watching tv as we eat. We watched Big Hero 6 last night. Fun! I made BBQ chicken and I only had to eat a couple bites because the boys, being distracteded by the movie, finally ate a full serving.

I hadn’t realized how poor my eating habits had become while drinking. I also had lost my hobbIes of cooking & gardening.

So, back to 3 square meals a day. And eating until I’m full. And dessert!

4 thoughts on “3 Square

  1. It’s so easy to forget the importance of nutrition when we’re drinking. I like you like to view myself as anon drinker now who has unfortunately had an occasional relapse which I hope not to repeat. But during these moments of madness I was reminded of how unimportant food used to be, (even though I am very knowledgable about the topic due to my obsessive approach to everything!)mainly because I was too full, or hoped to be full of booze! I know that malnutrition is a serious problem for alcoholics and I can see why! Keep enjoying the desserts

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

