Day 155 – Curiosity is a Natural Anti-Depressant

Standard

So far, I have been able to attend every session of The Mindfulness Summit as well as meditate every day. I didn’t realize how hungry I was for this kind of experience.

One striking distinction is the feeling of community. Reading self-help books or attending therapy are singularly focused. They have been my main stay approach to feeling whole.

My self-care class, the summit, blogging, online AA Yoga Recovery meeting, are all bigger than just me.

On todays guided meditation we explored a “feeling”. We Softened, Allowed, Felt and Expanded. SAFE. What made this unique was expanding to the awareness of other people having the same “feeling”. People in my community, the US, the world and even back in time. As a Christian girl my thoughts often go to the struggles of Mary or Mother Theresa. Recognizing that my “feeling” does not define me. “The feeling” is universal.

That was cool.

And healing.

Depression is not something I struggle with but people close to me do. I heard two new thoughts.

Compassion is a natural anti-depressant.

Curiosity is a natural anti-depressant.

My boys are not liking school and I can clearly see their school work is not including any curiosity for them. It is opening my eyes a bit more to what they are feeling. In my work I can create curiosity. It is one reason I love my job. I can design a stimulating environment.

No answers, but what fascinating concepts. Curiosity, expansiveness of feelings and community.

4 thoughts on “Day 155 – Curiosity is a Natural Anti-Depressant

  1. Untipsyteacher

    I so agree with curiosity!
    From my brain study classes for teachers, we learned the brain loves novelty.
    It needs new experiences to thrive!
    And as a person who suffers from depression, two sure ways to help myself are help someone else, and seek out new things.
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

