Defending My Self-Care

Standard

I was challenged by my friend yesterday with the old question of “Why don’t you just…” Hmmm… Why don’t I stay up a little later at night? Why don’t I just eat a quick frozen pizza? Why don’t I have just one drink? Why don’t I make my kids do….?

Because it doesn’t make me feel good LATER.

Self-care is not just about feeling good right now.

I’m beginning to understand this long term effect of my choices. When I was actively drinking it was all about THIS moment RIGHT NOW. Getting through one day, one hour, one minute at a time. Getting a bit of sober time has helped me realize that drinking was making me feel bad, NOT I feel bad and now I need a drink.

Over time, the good healthy feelings were what I longed for. More & better sleep, healthy food (didn’t need heavy grease to soak up a hangover) and the ability to say no to my winey/whiney self. I went from I Need This Wine to I need To NOT have this wine because it FEELS BETTER.

So, when asked “Why don’t I just….” it made me smile when I answered with “I know what feels good for me.” Wow! I started this blog to work on rewards and treats to discover what makes me feel good and NOW I KNOW!

How cool is that!

4 thoughts on “Defending My Self-Care

  1. mishedup

    how cool?
    unbelievably ,perfectly cool!
    Love this post…
    the realization that it is the drinking that causes the harm, not the life that causes the drinking. Perfect!
    Congrats on the hard won and so satisfying clarity!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

