Where am I?

Standard

I feel so absent from the blog world! Work has captured most of my time, followed closely by my garden. Yep, it’s November in central Iowa and I picked tomatoes yesterday šŸ™‚ I have spinach, lettuce, peas, cabbage, beets, carrots & broccoli  as well. 

Through it all I have NOT been drinking. Yeah me. My 7 months  in a row still hangs over my head (in a good way). Maybe some day I will hit it again. BUT for now, I’m just taking it one day at a time. No worries. 

I have come a long way in my conversations about my drinking with my boyfriend. He has started to recognize that his own drinking is more than what he likes. He and I both can talk honestly about “really wanting the escape” and we say to each other “I get that.” He doesn’t question my drinking or not drinking anymore. It has just become one of my (many) quirks that I battle alcohol. I kind of feel bad for him though. When he met me he never gave his own drinking a second thought, now he questions himself. I Get That! Once you see it you can’t un see it. And that wasn’t a fun realization for me.

I’m going to enjoy this sober, happy time between life crisis (cuz you know there is always one around the corner.) 

6 thoughts on “Where am I?

  1. Hi!
    It is hard to un see. Because there is always that little voice inside saying…is this really what you want…

    Most of us just don’t want to be numb. It’s tiring.

    Keep writing. Keep moving forward. Hopefully the next crisis is far in the future!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Keep moving forward, talking and focusing on today. You can get through anything you set your mind to. Don’t let that voice drag you in to making you believe alcohol is the answer, it just makes things so much worse. Communicate with your boyfriend and be really honest with yourself and him as well if his drinking will or is having an impact on your sobriety. Never forget to be HONEST!
    Congrats on your 7 months! Amazing…

    Like

  3. I used to live in central Iowa, believe it or not. It was brief, but I loved the people. On the other hand, the winters sucked the life out of you. I understand trying to re-achieve the non drinking momentum. I am doing the same.
    xoxo
    Shawna

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

