Day 11 – Knocked Down Again

Standard

I was up…now I’m down….My son asked if we broke up. He heard it at school. WTF

Since I have told literally no one, how does he hear it at school? I didn’t even get a chance to tell my kids myself. 

But I was horribly, painfully, honest. I said I did something very bad. I drank and we fought. My oldest immediately figures out that I drank and drove. He is furious and disappointed. 

I barely slept last night. I am down 10 pounds in a week. (I’m okay with this though! It was just crappy bloating.) But I need to be careful. I’m feeling fragile at a time that I need to be strong for work.

And speaking of work, it is going really well! Then, I immediately feel sad because I wouldn’t be here at all, without my friend’s relentless encouragement and support. 

Reading back over old blog posts at this time of year, I was insanely stressed out. This year has been wonderful! Except for this breakup. 

Up. Down. Up. Down.

10 thoughts on “Day 11 – Knocked Down Again

  1. Those painful conversations with the kids. Oh I remember them.

    My son delivered one of the most painful blows to me in my early recovery. “Is this going to f***ing work?” Read into that “Are we all pandering to you and you’re just going to screw up and beg forgiveness again. I’m done with that and you”

    Sigh.

    Get up and try again to show him that no matter what you love him and you’ll do your best.

    Good luck

    Like

  2. I went through a big break up in 2016 (10 year relationship) and it was effing hard. Be gentle with yourself. Drinking only makes everything worse. But you know that. Know that you CAN get through this, sober. It might feel impossible, but it can be done. And it gets better with time. Sending hugs 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

